Board Members

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is responsible for governance of the Community Foundation including financial and investment oversight, setting policy, reviewing all grantmaking activities and charitable distributions. Our Board of Directors is comprised of community leaders, chosen for their strategic thinking, vision, and commitment to the future of Harford County.

The Community Foundation has 13 board members elected at our Annual Meeting.

Jayne Klein, President

Klein’s Shoprite of Maryland, Inc.

A message from our President

The Community Foundation of Harford County (CFHC) evolved from individuals who were serving on local nonprofit boards. They realized many nonprofits are trapped in a vicious cycle. Each year these nonprofits must divert substantial time from their missions to raise funds to cover yearly expenses. CFHC founders realized there is never sufficient funding for nonprofits to maintain existing programs or establish new programs. Needs grow faster than the population.

At the same time, those who recognized this serious community problem recognized philanthropy could be increased in Harford County. They knew of generous and giving individuals, families, and businesses who wanted to support their communities and important issues. Connecting them became a mission. Thus was born the  Community Foundation of Harford County and our goal – to connect people who care with causes that matter. CFHC partners with donors to make philanthropy happen. We give donors choices and make giving simple and easy.

The idea behind the Community Foundation of Harford County is simple:

…to build a substantial permanent fund from contributions both large and small and use the income it generates to meet Harford County’s current and future charitable needs.

At the Community Foundation of Harford County, we are committed to making Harford County a better place for you and those you love. Our mission is to promote and increase charitable giving. We do this by building and managing endowments and gifts to meet the present and emerging needs of Harford County and its nonprofit community.

What we do and how we do it are explained throughout our website. We hope you will take the time to look at our site and contact us if you have questions.  We invite you to become our partner by making a donation or starting a fund. We pledge to be careful stewards of your donation and ensure your gift is preserved and used in keeping with your wishes.

Kenneth Ferrara, Vice President

Vice President & Executive Director,
Upper Chesapeake Health

Carolyn Pizzuto, Secretary

Strategic Planning Professional

Michael F. Allen, Treasurer

Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer
Harford Bank

Jesse Bane

Town Administrator
Town of Bel Air

Kathleen Beck

Financial Executive

Joseph S. Boddiford, III

Financial Advisor
Morgan Stanley

Denise Dregier

Director for College & Alumni Development,
Harford Community College

M. Scott Elliot

Vice President & Business Development Officer
Harford Bank

Mary-Dulany James

Of Counsel
Snee, Lutche, Hemlinger & Spielberger, P.A.

Edward A. Kouneski

Financial Executive

Patrick A. Pollard

Senior Resident Director – The Pollard Group
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc.

Deborah M. Turner

DMT Investments, LLC